Home   Know ROMANIA   Honorary Consul   News   VISA Information   Contact   Anthem

Romania fascinates through the perfect mixture of shapes and colours and the incredible fusion between tradition and modern.
Let us introduce you to the Romanian traditions, history and a few examples of the nation's heritage. Sometimes nature can reveal itself as a work of art, and can be an endless source of inspiration. Thus nature can undoubtedly shape the character of a nation.

Welcome to Romania !

Nation Romania
Capital Bucharest
Geographic Position Romania is located in SE Central Europe, on the lower Danube and bordering on the Black Sea. The 45 parallel of North latitude and the 25 East line of longitude are crossing Romania.
The bordering countries are Hungary, Serbia, Ukraine, Republic of Moldova and Bulgaria.
Population 21,733,556 inhabitants (July 1, 2003), urban population 53.2%. About 9 million Romanians live outside the country’s boundaries.
Official Language Romanian. The Eastern most representative of the family Romance languages, Romanian descends from the Latin spoken in Dacia and Moesia in ancient times.
Ethnic Structure Romanians - 89.5%; Hungarians (including Szecklers) - 6.5%; other ethnic groups - 4%
Religious Structure Eastern Orthodox - 86.7%; Roman-Catholic - 4.7%; Protestant - 3.2%; Greek-Catholic - 0.9%; Evangelical - 0.1%; Unitarian - 0.3%; Other religions - 0.4%
Climate The climate is temperate continental, with slight ocean influences in the West, Mediterranean in the south-west, and excessively continental in the north-east.
Features Mountains, Hills, Plains and Delta
Currency Romanian New Leu (RON)
Exchange Rate For rate conversions from Romanian New Leu (RON) to other currencies, please visit http://www.agerpres.ro
Romania is a NATO country and a member of the European Union, bordering Hungary and Serbia to the West, Ukraine to the North and East, Republic of Moldova to the East and Bulgaria to the South, across the marvellous Danube river. The Black Sea coast gives Romania sea-access to other countries in the region such as Turkey, Russia, Ukraine and some Trans - Caucasian republics, as well as to the Mediterranean Sea, via the Bosphorus Strait.
The administrative organization of Romania features 41 counties, and Bucharest, the capital city of the country. In the counties, the basic administrative units are the towns and communes (made os several villages). There are 263 cities and towns, of which 80 municipalities, and 2685 communes with over 13,285 villages.
Besides Bucharest, which has a population of nearly 2.1 million, there are 17 cities with over 100,000 inhabitants, 7 of which exceed 300,000.
The majority population - about 90% - is made of Romanians, and the rest of 10% includes Hungarians - 6.6%, Germans, Ukrainians, Roma, Turks, Tartars, Serbs, Slovakians, Bulgarians etc.

Contents are Copyright
Best viewed at 1024 X 768 pixels
Designed by: avsolutions.in
Home || Know Romania || News || Contact